… and other ponderings in 11th-dimensional space

Dr. Barajas Receives the 2010 IEEE Robotics and Automation Society Early Career Award

Jul 20th, 2010 | By | Category: Awards & Honors

IEEE RAS Award winners

Dr. Leandro Barajas (center) receives the 2010 IEEE Robotics & Automation Society Early Career Award.

Dr. Leandro Barajas' 2010 IEEE RAS Early Career Award

Khatib, Bacjsy, Zelinsky, Siciliano, Sun, Barajas, Lee, Ikeuchi Receive RAS Society Awards

Created at 2010-05-19 11:43:13
Last updated at 2010-05-20 05:16:05

The following awards were presented  by the Robotics and Automation Society at the ICRA 2010 Awards Ceremony to recognize the outstanding career and service contributions of individuals in Robotics and A Normal 0 utomation. The awardees and their citations are:

  • 2010 Pioneer in Robotics and Automation Award
    • Ruzena Bajcsy for ‘ fundamental pioneering contributions to robotics research in the areas of perception-action systems, telepresence, and active perception, for visionary leadership, and for life-long commitment to the field
    • Oussama Khatib for pioneering contributions to robotics research in the areas of mechanisms, dynamics, and control, for visionary leadership, and for life-long commitment to the field
  • 2010 Distinguished Service Award: Bruno Siciliano
    For outstanding leadership and commitment in promoting robotics and automation and RAS as the number one Society in the field
  • 2010 Inaba Technical Award for Innovation Leading to Production: Alexander Zelinsky
    For outstanding contributions to robotic technologies that have been commercialized in the automotive, sports and health care industries 
  • 2010 Early Government/Industry Career Award in Robotics and Automation: Leandro G. Barajas
    for pioneering the use of diagnostics and prognostics research in large-scale industrial robotics and automation applications
  • 2010 Early Academic Career Award in Robotics and Automation:Yu Sun
    for contributions to enabling microrobotic and MEMS technologies for automated cell manipulation and characterization in cell biology and clinical applications
  • 2010 George Saridis Leadership Award in Robotics and Automation: C.S. George Lee
    for leadership and contributions in RAS technical activities and conferences
  • 2010 RAS Distinguished Lecturer Award: Katsushi Ikeuchi, University of Tokyo
  • 2010 Most Active Technical Committee Award : Technical Committee on Robot Learning
    Chairs: Jun Morimoto, Jan Peters, Nicholas Roy, Russ Tedrake  
  • 2010 Chapter of the Year: Washington/Northern Virginia Robotics and Automation Society Joint Section Chapter, Chair: Leon A. Escobar 

Two awards which had been announced earlier this year were formally presented at the ceremony

  • IEEE Robotics and Automation Award: Toshio Fukuda,  for leadership and pioneering contributions to Intelligent Robotic Systems and Micro and Nano Robotic Systems.
  • King-Sun Fu IEEE Transactions on Robotics Best Paper Award: Vision-Aided Inertial Navigation for Spacecraft Entry, Descent, and Landing Mourikis, A.I.; Trawny, N.; Roumeliotis, S.I.; Johnson, A.E.; Ansar, A.; Matthies, L.
    IEEE Transactions. on Robotics; Vol. 25, No. 2, Pages: 264 – 280.

via http://www.ieee-ras.org/news/225/Khatib,-Bacjsy,-Zelinsky,-Siciliano,-Sun,-Barajas,-Lee,-Ikeuchi-Receive-RAS-Society-Awards.html


Leave Comment